Reflections

Well this term was interesting, but as it comes to an end, I feel i should share my thoughts of what’s been going through my head,

This blog is how I felt, its who I am, but it’s not about me,
It was about how censorship has impacted the viewing experience of those experiencing the censored content. It has both positive and negative implications as referred to in the media. It’s full of those opinionated people and those with little experience. It is also full of those with the experience to speak but they are not the ones with the voice to speak loud enough to be heard. It’s hard to speak up when your voice is stifled by the mass, you could almost say their view was selectively censored… heh…

All the while when first I was asked to document an issue, I was stumped, I wanted to pick something I was passionate about, but that people didn’t think about in much detail, but research it in enough detail to get you thinking, just enough to give it a second thought.

I looked for the obscure things, the things that people would like to hear about, something to keep people interested, but keeping with the issue at hand, I liked the idea of telling people my opinion without having someone retort rather snarkily, it’s like a vent channel that people can view in glorious colour.

At first i picked the obvious subject of SOPA and PIPA, the two subjects that blew up the internet in a rage fit of hell and chaos, I was pleased with the result I got from simply chasing links to sites and educating people. Cursed with anxiety from birth, this was a great way to show people exactly what I thought with proof, it gave me satisfaction to print what i thought to others.

The next week, I was fiddling with subjects and I was stumped, I couldn’t find something else to report on, so I went browsing, and unintentionally came across a Kotaku ad saying that the legislation for R18 had passed lower house… gleefully I read it and suddenly had a revelation. Quickly typing it down I had my second post. It was insane… I was actually having fun…

The media itself seemed to target games as a scapegoat. In the past it was music, and technology itself, but it just seems the world is afraid of anything new… it’s a scare tactic maybe.. who knows, all i know is that once the thrill is over, the media will find a new one. It became a hotspot topic several times with murders being supposedly linked to people with games. Of course these people had no evidence and felt it was their duty to hate on games forever so this hits like a brick made of feathers.

I guess its a matter of perception, people see things differently and I personally see this as a chance to educate people about what fears that the media instils into us. It teaches false morals to sell their ideals. Censorship isn’t all bad. I mean, if you want to show a certain game to a younger audience, the option to lower the blood splatters would be a good idea, but to an older audience, it’s more of a hindrance. There was major debate as to whether Mortal Kombat 9 should be allowed in Australia with all the violence it garners. Obviously the voters saw how “realistic” the game was and voted on opinion not fact and it was banned. Matter of opinion of course… seriously.. when was the last time you saw someone uppercut someone so hard their head flew off…? Didn’t think so..

Others reason that the creativity is being held back by censoring things. People are inspired by shocking things and to censor everything is to stifle the creative touch. Who knows where the next hit artist may come from. Just between you and me… I reckon the future is gonna be a lot like the movie Demolition Man. Censoring everything will make a good world, but make violence taboo and some people just see it as an invitation for more. All in all, you aren’t gonna stop certain things by banning them.

Last of all, as i said in the last post, we’re all born to create chaos, we’d not be satisfied in a “perfect” world, cause everyone has their own ideals and “perfect” again, is a term of perspective, and is unique to everyone. No two are alike, and try as we may, it’s never going to change.

Summing up what I’ve discovered is a hard task because it’s more like “what HAVEN’T you learnt”. The media keeps a firm foot planted in this issue the whole way as it affects everyone. It is rather a good thing though as it provides insight into the world’s standings.

Cheers and thanks for actually paying attention this whole time.
Congratulations are in order, so thanks for all the attention
 ~Emissary out

Leave a Reply

